# ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES FOR CANDLEWOOD SHORES TAX DISTRICT (CSTD)

## I. MEETING DETAILS

**ACTING PRESIDENT: Alan Owen** 

Secretary: Robert Yamuder

Date: May 11, 2024 Time: 10.00 am

Location: Firehouse

Street Address: 18 Bayview Drive

City: Brookfield, CT

## **II.ATTENDEES**

Alan Owen, Acting President

- Robert Yamuder, Secretary
- Norman Edelson, Treasurer
- David Samuels, Director
- Jonathan Lepler, Director
- Angelo Aldana, Director
- Travis Hyatt, Managing Agent, Scalzo Property Management
- Christopher Leonard, CSTD Attorney

#### **ABSENT**

• Tim Cicchese, Director

## **III.CALL TO ORDER**

Alan Owen, called the meeting to order and welcomed residents and reviewed purpose of the meeting, to vote on the Tax and Water Budgets, and to vote for President and Directors.

# IV.Motion to Approve Ballot

David Samuels made a motion to approve the slate of candidates on the ballot:

For President: Alan Owen

Angelo Aldana

For Vice President: Joseph Rizkallah

For Director 3 Yr Term: Jon Lepler

Doug Jenks

For Director 1 Yr Term: Mike Walsh

Ryan Marquis

Tatiana Murphy

Motion was seconded by Doris Dallas, and unanimously approved.

# V.Motion to Approve the Budgets

Norman Edelson made a motion to approve the Tax District budget and the Water Department Budget which had previously been presented at the April 18 Budget meeting, and previously published in newspaper. Motion seconded by Ron Reiske, and unanimously approved.

## **VI.Candidates' Speeches**

Angelo Aldana, Alan Owen, Mike Walsh and Doug Jenks made short speeches explaining their backgrounds and their reasons for running.

#### VII.Questions and Answers

The audience had opportunity to ask questions of the two candidates for President, Alan Owen and Angelo Aldana for approximately 30 min. After there were no more questions, everyone was asked to cast their votes by placing their ballots in the ballot boxes.

#### VIII.VOTE AND VOTE COUNT

Nancy Johnson, Nominating committee, and Christopher Leonard, CSTD Attorney oversaw the ballot counting. After verifying the count, Attorney Leonard announced the results:

President: Angelo Aldana **Vice President:** Joseph Rizkallah

Directors, 3 yr term: Jon Lepler and Doug Jenks

Mike Walsh Director, 1 Yr term:

**Vote Count-**Candidate **Vote Count** 

President: Angelo Aldana 104 Alan Owen

60

Vice President: Joseph Rizkallah Unopposed Director 3 Yr Term: Jon Lepler Unopposed

Doug Jenks Unopposed

Director 1 Yr Term: Mike Walsh 92

Ryan Marquis 37 Tatiana Murphy 28

# IX. ADJOURNMENT

**End of Meeting** – Alan Owen called an end to the meeting at 12:00 pm.

Minutes submitted and approved by: Robert Yamuder, Secretary CSTD